e_legs

Kos’ ActBlue Not My Progressive Cuppa Tea

In Misc., Netroots, US Politics on June 28, 2006 at 4:23 pm

Kos, of DailyKos fame, created a little whiles back ActBlue, an “online clearinghouse for Democratic action.” I like the idea of using the net to fundraisefor worthwhile candidates, but he added a page today that I’m not necessarily behind 100%. The new page lists candidates that, “have been tireless advocates and allies of the netroots. Their continued support will help ensure the long-term health and viability of a free, open, and healthy netroots. All members of this page are incumbents who have shown a commitment to blog participation, opposed efforts to regulate the netroots, and are proponents of net neutrality.”

I see the benefits of supporting the netroots, encouraging blog participation and fighting for net neutrality, but I don’t like the idea of backing electeds on a one-issue basis (in this case, netroots issues). The electeds listed thus far (Slaughter of NY, Miller of NC, and Conyers of MI) all would receive my general backing, but as this list expands, I’d be worried single-issue fundraising will make things more compicated than they need to be.

I believe that netroots campaigns are a powerful tool.  They must be defended as a tool for fighting for larger issues. For me, netroots issues aren’t the end-all but the desired end result is increased and open democratic participation — supporting a candidate simply because of their support for netroots activism is not the way forward.

I support your work, Kos, but I gotta disagree with ya on this one.

Leave a Reply

